Presidential Elections 2017: All you need to know about this years vote


    Elections to vote in India’s 14th President was held on Monday 17th July 2017, from 10 am to 5 pm. Facing off are the BJP-led NDA’s candidate, Ram Nath Kovind, and the joint Opposition candidate Meira Kumar.

    Here are the top ten things you must know about this Presidential election:

    1. The President is chosen by the Electoral College. This body involves all elected members from Parliament and the individuals from the legislative assemblies of all states. It also includes the union territories of Delhi and Puducherry.
    1. The strength of the electoral college is 10,98,903 votes, with every Parliamentarian conveying a vote estimation of 708. The vote weight of an individual, from a State Assembly is calculated keeping in mind the number of inhabitants in the state he or she represents. A candidate needs 50 percent of votes to win. That goes to 5,49,452 votes.
    1. Kovind’s victory against Kumar is said to be an inevitable end product on the grounds that very nearly 40 parties. That includes numerous from outside the NDA overlay that have sworn to help him. Altogether, Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (U), will likewise be supporting Kovind, conflicting with its Bihar ‘excellent collusion’ accomplices, the Congress and Lalu Prasad’s RJD. The non-NDA parties that are relied upon to vote in favor of Kovind are the AIADMK, the Yuvajana Shramika Rythu Congress Party, the Biju Janata Dal, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi and the Indian National Lok Dal. The aggregate votes of each one of those supporting Kovind, are more than 60 percent, which is a considerable measure higher than the required 50, for every percent.
    1. The joint Opposition competitor Kumar has the help of the Congress, obviously, and additionally of the Nationalist Congress Party, the Samajwadi Party, the Bahujan Samajwadi Party, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Rashtriya Janata Dal, the All India Trinamool Congress, the Communist gatherings, the DMK, and the Jammu and Kashmir National Conference, among a couple of others. Nonetheless, AAP intends to avoid as its pioneer H.S. Phoolka, who has taken care of a few 1984 hostile to Sikh uproars cases which some Congress leaders are ensnared in, has said he can’t vote in favor of the Congress candidate. The total electoral votes of these parties goes to a little more than 39 percent, path underneath the 50 percent mark.
    1. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has even wished Kovind “in advance” and has guaranteed him of his administration’s help. The PM said that Kovind’s excursion, regardless of whether as a politician or as a lawyer, has been non – controversial and his Presidential survey battle has been the same.
    2. Opposite leader and Congress president Sonia Gandhi, has in the interim claimed for a “soul vote”. She said on Sunday, that this Presidential decision “speaks to a conflict of thoughts, (and) a contention of unique esteems.” “In these contests, the numbers may be against us. But the battle must be fought and fought hard,” the Congress president said.
    1. The voting on Monday was held between 10:00 am and 5:00 pm. Paper tickets had been utilized and the votes were legitimate just as an extraordinary violet ink pen was utilized to vote. The MPs had voted on green ballots and the MLAs voted on pink tickets. Ballot boxes from the States was flown and stored in Room 62 of Parliament.
    1. Authorities said that surveying in Parliament House will occur in room number 62. Parliamentarians will vote as per tables apportioned to the States they represent. The PM, Congress president Sonia Gandhi and Congress VP Rahul Gandhi, will vote on table number 6 as they are all MPs from Uttar Pradesh. There will be six tables. Furthermore, MLAs who have voted in Delhi will do as so from table number 1.
    1. The checking of votes will take place on July 20 in Delhi. President Pranab Mukherjee’s term is terminating on July 25.
    1. The decision for the post of Vice President is booked for August 5. Gopalkrishna Gandhi, the joint Opposition contender for the post, will document his selection papers on Tuesday. The NDA has yet to decide on its candidate for the post and a BJP parliamentary board meeting later on Monday is expected to discuss this issue.